Understanding group permission sharing across instances
Who is this article for?
Administrators managing permissions.
No special permissions are required.
A known bug causes group permissions to be shared across Training and Production instances, resulting in users receiving combined permissions from both environments.
Understanding the issue
Group permissions are currently shared across instances, instead of being contained within the instance in which they are set. When a user has access to both Training and Production, their permissions from both instances are combined and applied in each environment.
This affects users who:
- are in different groups in each instance
- are in groups with the same name in both instances, but where the permissions for those groups differ between instances
In either case, the user receives the sum of all permissions from both instances.
Resolution
This issue will be fixed with the release of version 2.8.1, scheduled for October 2026.